Posted in idk.

Fed up with Love Stories.

Yesterday was a great day. I came down to Jackson square with not a single idea in my head as to what I was going to do once I arrived. Soon after walking into the familiar “shopping centre” though, I found a Coles… In this Coles, I found a book. And in this book, I found a love story.

This particular love story was unfortunately not about me, no I did not wander around the bookshelves and some weirdly hot nerd came around and started chatting me up, no. I found a book called Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. Highly suggest reading this if you are also a sap like me.

SO, I bought this book (for only $10 – a steal) and got myself a juice and then settled into the cafeteria at the Jackson Square Nations (amazing grocery store btw). I started to read and soon got addicted to the characters and their story. I loved hearing about all the little things they found about each other and watching their romance form and grow. You see, I love unusual love stories. I don’t want to hear about two attractive people falling in love. And I especially do not want to read another story about the nerdy girl who suddenly takes her glasses off to go to the big school dance, and is suddenly an effing Victoria’s Secret model. This may attract other people but not me.

You see, I do not desire this kind of love and maybe (totally) that’s on me, and maybe you love hearing about attractive people fall for each other at football games. And that’s fine. It is just not for me. I want to hear about the weird girl and the shy guy who are total introvert/extrovert stereotypes getting together, I want to hear about the gay warlocks falling in love.

Now, for the point of this post, (there is one I swear) I was walking the YA (Young Adult) section of the Hamilton Public Library today and could not find a single book that was of interest to me as Everything, Everything was (finished this in 5 hours it was so good by the way). This made me sad. This made me question where I was going as a 19-year-old reader. I need to find a new genre. YA is just too cliché for me now and since I have been reading it (Twilight and all) since I was 12, this is in a new era of reading for me and I have no idea where to start.

I’ve scoured the internet for books and read all the blogs and even watched YouTube videos on books (BookTube) and cannot find anything. You see, along with not liking cliché romance, I also don’t like coming of age books (I find them far too cheesy and I need some romance in my life). And I especially do not like books about real world issues or girls being fat and bullied because this was not me and it just depresses me reading about slavery and such. This probably makes me a horrid person and I understand this but I read to escape, not to be dragged down.

Wow, I sound like an asshat.

Okay, I think it’s time to end this.

Going to go search for more books now.

Unsuccessfully.

Good luck reading this passionate mess of words.

Bye.

Alicia.

Author:

I don't know what I'm doing so I just kind of "wing it"

Leave a Reply

