Posted in idk., stream of nothingness

rambly bambly female empowerment

You know what I hate?

Well, lots of things actually… summer, anti-feminists, dog people, rude people, people in general; you know, the standard.

But one of the things that I hate/makes me sad the most is when I see tweets/Tumblr posts/Instagram captions of girls saying “you bring out the best in me” and “you accepted my true form” like they are talking about their unsightly foot wart or something. Your personality is something that nobody can make you show or form for you. It is all you, honey.

YOU chose to trust that person.

YOU made that decision, nobody brought it out; it was already there.

Things like “You showed me I’m worth so much more than how he treated me. You showed me I’m loveable, that a person can look at me, the real me, the one I rarely dare show, and like what they see.” I see on the internet really makes me fear for my daughter if I ever have one. I seriously hope that she never feels her personality – or “true self” is something that needs to be hidden or to be ashamed of only to hope someone someday accepts you for who you are.

I see my little cousin, who is like a sister to me, try and hide her quirky self sometimes or act a certain way because she thinks that’s what people want from her and all I ever want to do is shake her and give her some of my small reserve of self confidence and acceptance. I would give it all to her if I could.

Seeing things where girls think a guy made them better makes me mad. And sad. And worried. If a girl thinks there is no reason to love herself until a guy says he accepts her there is something seriously fucked up about this world (no shit Sherlock.)

I, being the sarcastic and loud weirdo I am today can remember when I wouldn’t say a joke because I thought; a guy wouldn’t like a girl who tells stupid dirty jokes or worse I would try to be someone I wasn’t to see if I could get a guy to like me more. Looking back on this and typing it in this moment makes it seem more and more pathetic by the minute.

One thing I have learned in the past year or so about myself or about the world I live in is that:

you.do.not.need.to.be.accepted:

effing.embrace.yourself.

sigh. Alicia

P.S. I am fighting the urge to apologize for this post being rambly and unprofessional but I am still working on my own self-acceptance issues and idk now I am writing this p.s.

wow this blog got all social commentary-y all of a sudden.

dare i say we are becoming more than a useless complaining blog?

nope

we still useless

woo

go self deprecation in writing.

also, “that’s so gay” is not a good way of saying something is not good.

thank you and goodnight.

Author:

I don't know what I'm doing so I just kind of "wing it"

Leave a Reply

